The period from birth to the end of the Reception Year at school is known as the Early Years Foundation Stage. Children develop more quickly at this stage than at any other time in their lives. This stage of development lays the foundations for lifelong learning, preparing your child for their future learning and successes. The EYFS framework describes how our teams of Early Years Educators and Teachers work with the children and their families to support learning, and to develop the skills and knowledge that matter the most.

The EYFS organises knowledge and skills through 7 areas of learning and development:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

These are known as the prime areas of learning which are most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. As your child grows, the prime areas help them to develop skills in the 4 specific areas of learning:

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World and
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Young children learn best through play and exploration. As part of daily practice nursery will provide your child with a wide range of fun and engaging play and learning experiences that underpin the skills your child needs to work towards the Early Learning Goals.

At Seymour House we teach the EYFS areas of learning through our own 5 C’s curriculum:

  • Communication
  • Cooperation
  • Curiosity
  • Critical thinking; and
  • Creativity

These 5 C’s are the skills we feel will really endure in a rapidly changing world. Educational programmes offered at Seymour House promote the 5 C’s through a range of learning experiences including regular storytelling, song and rhyme times, cooking sessions, Dragon Maths, sky writing, P.E lessons, safety detectives and choose a challenge to name just a few!